created & performed by: Elpida Orfanidou, Hermann Heisig

Music/Dramaturgy: Gerald Kurdian

Lighting Design:: Sandra Blatterer

Installation: Jaka Plesec

Production Management: Susanne Ogan

Production: supported by the Cultural Foundation of the free state of  Saxony, Student Centre Zagreb & TD Theatre­ Culture of Change, Goethe Institut Zagreb, Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, TanzWerkstatt Berlin, Schaubühne Lindenfels Leipzig and fabrik potsdam in the frame of the artist­in-Reside-nce programme

Duration: 55 min

Premiere: Teatar & TD, Student Centre Zagreb, October 2011/ further performances  in  Leipzig, Bratislava, Potsdam, Köln and Berlin

In „united states“ Elpida Orfanidou and Hermann Heisig embark on an absurd journey. Mixing various, sometimescontradictory physical and mental states,  they evoke "bastard­ states", hybrid images of the body. Emotionally loaded gestures turn into abstract movements, abstract movements suddenly deve-op an expressive life on its own. In what way a naive face expression  can influence the feet? How does a repetitive movement of the fingers transform into the ears, or a diabolic state from the  eyes into the hands?

Searching the Poetics of a monstrous body, "united states" creates an  atmosphere in between uncanniness and absurd comedy. Seemingly  familiar body ima-ges,  movements  or characters turn into mysteriosity or non­ sense. Like this "united states"questions  contradictions  such  as in  between seriousness  and humor, the analytical and the intuitive, express-vity  and "neutrality" and puts them together in new ways.

 

inco

von & mit: Elpida Orfanidou, Hermann Heisig

Musik/Dramaturgie: Gerald Kurdian

Lichtdesign: Sandra Blatterer

Installation: Jaka Plesec

Produktionsleitung: Susanne Ogan

Produktion: Mit Unterstützung von Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, Student Centre Zageb & TD Theatre-Culture of Change, Goethe-Institut Zagreb, Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, TanzWerkstatt Berlin, Schaubühne Lindenfels und der fabrik Postdam im Rahmen des Programms Artist-in-residence

Länge: 55 min

Premiere: Teatar & TD, Student Centre Zagreb/ weitere Aufführungen in  Leipzig, Bratislava, Potsdam, Köln und Berlin

In „united states“ begeben sich Elpida Orfanidou und Hermann Heisig auf eine absurde Reise. Sie erforschen „Bastard-Zustände“, hybride Körperbilder, in denen sich gegensätzliche Zustände verbinden. Wie übertragen sich Gesichtsausdrücke in die Füße, Fingerbewegungen in die Ohren oder ein diabolischer Zustand von den Augen in die Hände? Die beiden Performer überschreiten die Grenzen zwischen mentalen und physischen Zuständen ebenso wie die verschiedener tänzerischer Ästhetiken.

Auf der Suche nach der Poesie eines monströsen Körpers erschaffen sie eine Atmosphäre zwischen Unheimlichkeit und absurder Komik. Scheinbar vertraute Wahrnehmungsweisen des Körpers verformen sich in  mysteriöse oder aberwitzige Figuren und Situationen. Dabei hinterfragt "united states" vermeintliche Gegensätze etwa zwischen seriös und  humoristisch, intuitiv und analytisch, dramatisch und abstrakt und  führt  diese  auf neue Weise zusammen.

inco