inco

created by: Hermann Heisig

performed by: Elpida Orfanidou, Pieter Ampe, Jessica Batut, Alma Toaspern, Hermann Heisig

Music: Kassem Mosse

Stage & Costume Design: Marie Gerstenberger

Lighting Design: Thomas Achtner

Production management: Susanne Ogan

Production: Hermann Heisig in coproduction with Schauspiel Leipzig and HELLERAU – European Center of Art Dresden. Funded by Performing Arts Funds and the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony

In the context of the life reform movement at the beginning of the 20th century, swiss composer Émile Jaques-Dalcroze invented `rhythmic-musical education` as a method of physically representing music. This approach was part of an utopian experiment, in search for a new human being.

"Slave to the rhythm" is an attempt to physically appropriate parts of Dalcrozes' method to examine its inherent utopian potential. Accompanied by a Korg Poly 800 synthesizer and the music of Kassem Mosse, a landscape of rhythmic constellations emerges.

inco

Konzept: Hermann Heisig

von & mit: Elpida Orfanidou, Pieter Ampe, Jessica Batut, Alma Toaspern, Hermann Heisig

Musik: Kassem Mosse

Bühne & Kostüme: Marie Gerstenberger

Lichtdesign: Thomas Achtner

Produktionsmanagement: Susanne Ogan

Produktion: Hermann Heisig in Koproduktion mit Schauspiel Leipzig und HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden. Gefördert aus Mitteln des Fonds Darstellende Künste und der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen

Im Kontext der Lebensreformbewegung begründete der Schweizer Komponist und Musikpädagoge Émile Jaques-Dalcroze zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts die rhythmisch-musikalische Erziehung als eine Methode, Musik körperlich darzustellen. Dieser Ansatz war Teil eines umfassenden Gesellschaftsentwurfes, ein sozialutopisches Experiment, geschaffen aus einer Suche nach dem neuen Menschen.

„Slave to the rhythm“ ist der Versuch einer körperlichen Annäherung an Dalcrozes’ Methode, um das der Rhythmischen Gymnastik innewohnende utopische Potenzial von heute aus zu untersuchen. Begleitet durch einen Korg Poly 800 Synthesizer sowie zur Musik von Kassem Mosse entsteht eine Landschaft ineinander verschränkter rhythmischer Konstellationen, ein absurder Parcours.